Posted by: Martin | January 8, 2012

Catching the Entrepreneurship bug

Last Friday I got several month’s advance rent plus deposit from the new tenant moving in to the Cocody house. It’s the best single day positive cashflow since I started the business, and quite a great feeling – very different from receiving a salary.

I think it’s because the cashflow comes from pursuing one’s own independent idea/dream and building something from scratch, instead contributing to someone else’s agenda. It’s kind of like a waking up moment, seeing that it’s possible to opt out from a day-job at a big company and a life with terms to a great extent dictated by someone else,  and that opportunities and possibilities are pretty great.

Guess I’ve caught the entrepreneurship bug or something. As usual Steve Jobs expresses the whole thing very well, this time in a 46 second long video:

 

When you grow up you tend to get told the world is the way it is and you’re life is just to live your life inside the world. Try not to bash into the walls too much. Try to have a nice family, have fun, save a little money.

That’s a very limited life. Life can be much broader once you discover one simple fact: Everything around you that you call life was made up by people that were no smarter than you and you can change it, you can influence it, you can build your own things that other people can use.

Once you learn that, you’ll never be the same again.


Responses

  1. I started my own business with a friend 15 years ago. You’re right, there’s nothing like ‘making’ money rather than being paid to work. My best sense of achievement came from growing the business so that we could employ other people and now, all those years later and despite two recessions, we still employ 7 people as well as about 12 associates. The thrill of realising: “I created this myself, it didn’t exist before and now it does because of me” is one of the best feelings I know.

    Jan

  2. Indeed.

    Out of curiosity, what does your business do?

  3. wow, amazing Jan! Just saw your web site. I’ve been told the same “conservative” advice from my parents, then by the educational school and later on by my co-workers. I’m at the stage where I have a “good” job and a great family. But from what I saw from growing in Cote d’Ivoire, studying in France, then working in the US and now in Holland, now it’s time to test my guts and a great feeling is that my wife supports me as well. The good thing from this “prudent” education I’ve received is that now I kept on trying to create my own anticipation model and build my decisions based on a lot more different channels. information is key. And from all my channels I sense that it’s time to invest properly in my own creation or to join someone already in the move for a joint-venture. Buying my own time and having the ability to realize myself iso selling my own time (through my services) to someone else!

    • Hiya, glad you liked the website. One piece of advice that I wish someone had given me sooner was – CASH IS KING! Having enough cash to pay all your upcoming bills is really important – more so than making a profit on paper. I check every few days what the outgoings are going to be and whether we can cover those with money in the bank. Good luck, it sounds really exciting.

      Jan


Leave a Reply

Categories

